Town of Canmore

Employee Benefits Overview

At the Town of Canmore, full-time employees’ total compensation includes: 

A comprehensive group benefits package:

  • Employer-matched registered retirement savings plan 
  • Extended health benefits, including 100% coverage for prescription medication, psychology, physiotherapy, and other paramedical services (some annual maximums apply) 
  • Dental care, with 100% coverage for basic & preventative, 50% coverage for major work and limited coverage for children’s orthodontics 
  • A flexible Spending Account of $850/year for health & wellness 
  • Life insurance and accidental death & dismemberment (2 x annual salary) 
  • Dependent life insurance 
  • Short-term and long-term disability coverage 
  • Maximum emergency medical coverage for out-of-province travel
  • Optional individual or family coverage for critical illness, additional life and additional accidental death & dismemberment insurances

Paid annual vacation time starting at three weeks per year

Paid sick time of up to 12 days per year

Paid bereavement leave for the loss of an immediate family member 

All employees are eligible for: 

  • A free employee and family assistance program, available 24/7/365 
  • A corporate discount on Elevation Place memberships 
  • Voluntary participation in the staff employee association (a.k.a. the Social Club

Part-time and temporary workers may be eligible for some limited group benefits. 


The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test