Town of Canmore

COVID-19 Information

Sign up for our Emergency Management Newsletter

* indicates required

To see the number of COVID-19 cases in Canmore, visit COVID-19 Cases in the Town of Canmore

Alberta's State of Public Health Emergency in Canmore

Status: Enhanced
Updated Jan. 11, 2021

The Province of Alberta declared a State of Public Health Emergency on Nov. 24, and on Dec. 8, mandatory, provincewide restrictions are in effect to protect the health system and slow the spread of COVID-19. These restrictions will be in place until at least Jan. 21, 2021. All of the details can be found here

In Canmore, the new measures include:

  • All indoor and outdoor social gatherings are prohibited. 
  • The mandatory indoor public masking requirement is extended province-wide. 
  • Close contacts are limited to household members only. 
  • All out-of-town travel is discouraged at this time.
  • Elevation Place and Canmore Recreational Centre facilities are closed, as well as all other fitness centres, spas, gyms, studios, day and overnight camps.
  • Out-of-town visitors cannot stay in other people's homes while these restrictions are in place, regardless of where they are coming from.
  • Outdoor recreation is permitted, but facilities with indoor spaces except for washrooms are closed.
  • Entertainment businesses and entities – libraries, science centres, interpretive centres, museums, galleries, amusement parks, and water parks – will be closed.
  • Hotels may remain open but must follow restrictions – no spas, pools, or in-person dining. Room services only.

Click here for a complete list of mandatory measures

At this time, Bylaw Services is NOT allowed by the province to enforce public health orders. The province has granted the authority for enforcement to Level 1 Community Peace Officers (Municipal) and Level 2 Alberta Peace Officers (Provincial). In Canmore, our Bylaw officers are Level 2 Community Peace Officers, so they are unable to enforce any of the new provincial public health orders. Our officers are in the process of receiving their Level 1 designation, but this process is not yet complete. If you are concerned someone is not following public health orders, you can remind them that not following orders is against the law and puts people at risk, submit a complaint to AHS public health inspectors by calling 1.833.415.9179 or online.

COVID-19 Testing in Canmore

Updated Jan. 11, 2021

If you are experiencing any symptoms of COVID-19 including fever, cough, shortness of breath, difficulty breathing, or sore throat, please stay home and take the Alberta Health Services self-assessment.

COVID-19 tests are available for those who are known to be a close contact of someone who has a confirmed case of COVID1-19, or those who are experiencing COVID-19-like symptoms. To book a test call 811 or book on-line.

You will be sent to the closest testing site, which is currently in Banff or Cochrane.

If you do not have a means of traveling to Cochrane or Banff, you can visit the Bow Valley Primary Care Network (PCN) website to find out about alternative testing options. 

To see the number of COVID-19 cases in Canmore, visit COVID-19 Cases in the Town of Canmore 

ABTraceTogether App

Download the secure ABTraceTogether app. Unlike the federal app, ABTraceTogether is directly integrated with Alberta’s contact tracing system. In the time since ABTraceTogether launched, a number of improvements have been made, including address privacy concerns, and allow it to run in the background on IOS. It can detect interactions between two iPhones while the app is in the background or on a locked iPhone.

While any app is only one small part of the fight against COVID19, ABTraceTogether remains an effective public health tool.

COVID-19 Background 

Public health is the mandate of Alberta Health Services and the Province of Alberta. Visit for the most up to date info. Keep yourself informed by other credible sources of information, such as Alberta HealthHealth Canada, and the World Health Organization.

For more information, please see the links below:

Mandatory Mask Bylaw

The Mandatory Mask bylaw compels residents, visitors, and businesses to wear a mask or face covering in all public indoor settings (some exceptions apply).

Read More

Information for Visitors

Thinking of visiting Canmore? Read this important information to help keep our community safe.

Read More

Community Hub

Click here for information related to support services, including housing, financial supports, and mental health.

Read More

Business Hub

The Business Support Hub is here to guide you through these hard times. Explore the hub for resources, webinars, and information for businesses.

Read More

Actions Taken by the Town of Canmore during Covid-19

Click here for more information facilities, services, and Town of Canmore actions related to COVID-19

Read More

Mayor's Community Champions

Mayor John Borrowman's highlights positive stories of community spirit and resilience that demonstrate the best of what our community can be.

Read More
Website Security Test