Town of Canmore

Mandatory Mask Bylaw Repealed

Masks will no longer be required in public indoor settings with Council’s repeal of the mask bylaw on July 6, 2021. However, the Government of Alberta still requires masks to be worn while using public transit, including ride share vehicles, taxis, motor coaches, and shuttles as well as in any continuing care facility, and any facility operated by AHS/Covenant. Individual businesses may require staff and/or customers to wear masks inside their place of business. While masking is no longer required in most situations, it is important to support those who may wish to continue wearing masks while adjusting to this next phase of the pandemic recovery. Please be kind and respect others’ level of comfort and risk tolerance. The protective plexiglass barriers in Town of Canmore facilities will remain in place until at least this fall.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test