Town of Canmore

Fire Bylaw & Regulations

The Canmore Fire Bylaw sets the regulations that apply to all firepits, including front, side, and back yard fire pits, fireworks, fire protection fees, etc. Refer to Fire Bylaw 2013-08 for more information.

Fire Bans and Advisories

The Fire Chief has the power to declare a complete ban on all burning within the town. The fire department, RCMP, or a peace officer may ask you to extinguish your fire when a fire ban is in effect. They may also ask you to extinguish your fire if you are not complying with regulations. Click here for more information on fire bans or advisories.

Fire Pit Safety

Backyard fire pits, as well as outdoor fireplaces, or chimneys, must meet Canmore's safety standards. Before you pull out the marshmallows, read more about the safety tips.


Fireworks are not allowed in Canmore, except by a licensed pyrotechnician as part of our Town Events, or at special events that have received a permit from the Fire Department. Follow us on social media to be notified of when fireworks permits have been issued.

False Alarms

False alarms are costly, time-consuming, and create a potential safety risk. There are also potential fines involved. Click here to read the full False Alarm Bylaw for more information.

What is the law?
A "false alarm" means any notification to the Fire Department or the RCMP, respecting the existence of a condition, circumstance, or event containing an imminent serious danger to persons or property, where no such condition exists. The fine for committing an offense has a minimum specified penalty of $250.00. 
Tips to Prevent False Alarms
-Alarm systems should receive regular maintenance, and testing to ensure they are functioning properly.
-Be sure everyone in the family, guests, cleaners, employees, and contractors knows how to properly operate the alarm system.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test