Town of Canmore

Current Planning Applications

This section contains information on new planning applications, that meet the following criteria:

  1. Residential Project - 10 units or more
  2. Commercial/Industrial/Institutional Project - New buildings
  3. New or amended statutory plans
  4. Rezoning
  5. Road Closure Bylaws

New projects are added once a complete application has been submitted. If it is related to a new statutory plan, a webpage would be created prior to the application being submitted in order to assist the applicant and community with public participation. 

800 3 Ave

An application for up to six single-family homes and a hospice has been submitted on a parcel of privately owned vacant land in South Canmore located at 800 3rd Avenue.

Read More

1200 2 Ave Mixed Use Development

This application proposes two buildings with a combined total of 6 Visitor Accommodation units and 1 commercial unit, within the TPT-CR Teepee Town Comprehensive Redevelopment District (Sub-District C).

Read More

1717 Mountain Avenue Visitor Accommodation Development (Hotel)

A 46-unit Visitor Accommodation development in two buildings located on privately owned land at 1717 Mountain Avenue was approved by the Canmore Planning Commission on November 24, 2021.

Read More

1 Industrial Place

An approved mixed-use building at the corner of 17 Ave and Industrial Place) will include employee housing, offices, light manufacturing operations, retail thrift stores, an eating establishment, and a warehouse store.

Read More

Lawrence Grassi Middle School Site Redevelopment

Canadian Rockies Public Schools (CRPS) has submitted an application for an Area Redevelopment Plan to allow for 100-120 residential units on the southern portion of the Lawrence Grassi Middle School site.

Read More

Railway Court

Find out more about what is happening at number three and five Railway Court (Lots 15-17, Block 66, Plan 1095F), located adjacent to Policeman’s Creek.

Read More

Silvertip Blocks 3 & 10

Learn more about Blocks 3 & 10 in Silvertip.

Read More

Skyline Peaks

An approved accommodation providing 74 visitor accommodation units located at 115 Kananaskis Way and 501 Bow Valley Trail.

Read More

Three Sisters Mountain Village Area Structure Plan Applications

Learn more about what's happening with Three Sisters Mountain Village Area Structure Plan applications for Three Sisters Village and Smith Creek.

Read More

Three Sisters Mountain Village Site 5 (The Gateway at Three Sisters)

Three Sisters Mountain Village has submitted an application for an amendment to the Land Use Bylaw 2018-22, relating to Site 5 (The Gateway at Three Sisters) in the Stewart Creek Area.

Read More

Timberstone Lodge in Spring Creek Mountain Village

A mixed-use building containing 55 Tourist Home Units and one Live/Work Studio was approved by the Canmore Planning Commission on November 24, 2021.

Read More

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test