Town of Canmore

Skyline Peaks

What is Happening?

The Canmore Planning Commission approved an application for four buildings on private land located at 115 Kananaskis Way and 501 Bow Valley Trail, that will provide 74 visitor accommodation units.

The site is within the Bow Valley Trail General Commercial District (BVT-G). The development conforms to the Land Use Bylaw with the exception of two variances:

  • maximum building eave line height of 9m for street facing eaves and 10.47m for interior facing eaves, and
  • on-site pedestrian connections.


Please fill out the Contact Planning Form and a member of the Planning & Development team will respond to you.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test