Town of Canmore

Land Use Bylaw

The Land Use Bylaw directs the town’s form and use, and helps Canmore work towards its Municipal Development Plan (MDP) vision:

Canmore is a resilient and vibrant community, socially, economically, and environmentally. Its strength is in its resourceful and engaged citizens, who thrive together on the strength of the community’s heritage, long-term commitment to the diversity of its people, and health of the mountain landscape.

To reach this vision, each regulation within the Land Use Bylaw plays a role in supporting sustainable growth, respecting community character, improving mobility choice, and more.

The Land Use Bylaw can be read by  pdf clicking here (15.43 MB) .

Key Highlights

  • Accessory Dwelling Units (ADU),  which includes secondary suites, garden suites and garage suites, are allowed in all low-density residential districts and within duplexes. New restrictions on unit size and height are in place, and at least one parking stall must be provided per unit. Detached Dwellings with an ADU are a permitted use in all residential districts (to provide further incentives to create ADUs). Detached Dwellings without an ADU are a discretionary use.
  • House Size Limit – House sizes are limited to a maximum of 325m2 (3,500ft2) on lots under 930m2.  
  • A Steep Creek Hazard Overlay District restricts new development in high hazard areas, and requires the preparation of a steep creek hazard and risk assessment in moderate hazard zones. The detailed overlay maps show the hazard rating for each lot that is likely to be affected by a steep creek hazard. 
  •   pdf Envelope Model (1005 KB) – is alternate approach to calculating building height that better addresses low-pitch roof designs on residential development of three units or less.
  • Driveways - where there is an existing residential lane, it must be used for vehicle access and parking unless a variance is warranted. 
  • Signage - Mobile A-frame signs are prohibited throughout Town, however, chalkboard signs are allowed in commercial districts outside the Gateway District and Town Centre.

Steep Creek Hazard Zones

This page provides more information on an additional steep creek hazard overlay added in the new Land Use Bylaw.

Read More

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test