Town of Canmore

Canmore Recreation Centre Solar System

At their June 1, 2021 meeting Council approved an increase to the number of solar panels currently being installed on the Canmore Recreation Centre (CRC) to a total of 818 solar panels. The additional 218 panels will contribute to offsetting ~19 % of the building energy cost and reduce GHG emissions. No additional financial contribution from the Town of Canmore is required, as the expected rebate from Alberta Municipal Solar Program through the Alberta Municipal Climate Change Action Centre will cover the cost. The CRC has the largest flat roof area in the Bow Valley and has one of the highest electricity demands among all buildings owned by the Town of Canmore. As such, it is an ideal candidate for rooftop solar. 

The Canmore Recreation Centre – Rooftop Solar Installation capital project (#7182) increases from $365,000 to $520,000 with the additional funding. The system size installed will be 98.1 kW larger (approximately 218 panels) and will reduce estimated GHG emissions by an additional 49 tonnes of Carbon Dioxide equivalent (CO2e) annually.

A solar photovoltaic system is being installed at the Canmore Recreation Centre.

  • The system will consist of 818 panels, producing 368.1 kW of power. 
  • The system is expected to offset 19% of the electricity usage at the Canmore Recreation Centre.
  • The system is expected to reduce the Towns GHG emissions by 192 tonnes CO2 annually. 

The town will be receiving approximately $132,000 in rebate funding from the Alberta Municipal Solar Program (AMSP) for the solar photovoltaic system. The ASMP is a program through the Municipal Climate Change Action Centre.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test