Town of Canmore

Canmore Library Board


The Library Board governs the Canmore Public Library in accordance with the provincial Libraries Act.  The Board is responsible for hiring the Library Director and setting all the policies and regulations under which the Library Director and staff operate the library.  Visit for more information.

  pdf Libraries Act (586 KB)


The Library Board meets at 6:30 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of every month, except in July, August, and December. Meetings are open to the public.   For more information about the meeting schedule visit the Library's Board webpage.


The Board may consist of not fewer than 5 and not more than 10 members, no more than 2 who may be members of Council. Traditionally, the Canmore Library Board appoints 9 public members and one member of Council. The public member term is 3 years, and appointments are made by Council in late October every year.  For more information about applying, visit Apply for a Committee

 2016/2017 Public Members

  • Melinda Sampson - term expiry 2018
  • Beth Millard - term expiry 2017
  • Peter McKeown - term expiry 2018
  • Susan Becket - term expiry 2017
  • Anne Baker - term expiry 2019
  • Vincent Gallant - term expiry 2019
  • Ann Metikosh - term expiry 2018
  • David Parkes - term expiry 2017
  • Judith Smith - term expiry 2017

2016/2017 Council Representative

  • Councillor Ed Russell 


For more information call 403-678-2468 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Powered by CityFind Site Search