Town of Canmore

Cultural Advisory Committee

The Cultural Advisory Committee provides advice and recommendations to help Council implement the Canmore Cultural Master Plan based on approved budgets; fosters partnerships, innovation, and commitment for developing a creative economy, creative places, creative people, and creative identity; and provides advice and recommendations to help administration acquire and manage the public art collection.

Cultural Advisory committee meeting schedule will be determined in October of 2021. Meeting dates, times and locations will be advertised on this calendar with a minimum of 24 hours notice. Meetings are held in the public.

The committee is comprised of five to seven voting members. One member of Council, one public member who is a member of a Treaty 7 Nation or Region 3 Metis, up to three (3) public members who ideally represent the business, education, and social sectors in Canmore, one professional cultural worker (employed or volunteer in the cultural sector), and one member of the under 35 cultural community. The committee includes the supervisor of arts and events or designate in a non-voting capacity. 

The term of membership for public members is two years for the first term and three years for subsequent terms. The number of consecutive years served by a public member shall not exceed eight years. Committee members are appointed by Council in late October every year. This is a new committee and members will be listed here in October, 2021:

Public Members

Council Representative

Public Art Selection Sub-Committee
The committee is authorized to establish temporary public art selection sub-committees as required to evaluate submissions received in response to requests for proposals for commissioned artwork and recommend a successful candidate to administration. Selection sub-committees are comprised of a minimum of five voting members.

For more information email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or for information about Canmore's public art collection, visit our Public Art web page.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test