Town of Canmore

Subdivision Authority

The Subdivision Authority decides on all applications for property subdivision. There are 2 Subdivision Authorities - a primary and a secondary.

The primary Subdivision Authority consists of 5 members of council. This authority decides on subdivision applications that propose the creation of municipal reserves, school reserves, and public road rights of way. The secondary Subdivision Authority is the Town's chief administrative officer. This authority decides on all subdivision applications other than those delegated to the primary authority.

  pdf Subdivision Authority Bylaw 2015-12 (208 KB)

The primary authority meets only when an application is received. Dates, times, and locations of meeting will be advertised on this calendar with a minimum of 24 hours notice. Meetings are held in public. 

     Primary Subdivision Authority Members
     Mayor John Borrowman
     Councillor Jeff Hilstad
     Councillor Karen Marra
     Councillor Joanna McCallum
     Councillor Rob Seeley

     Secondary Subdivision Authority Member
     Lisa de Soto, Chief Administrative Officer

For more information contact the Planning and Development department at 403-678-1515. 

Click for livestream

Subdivision Authority Minutes & Agendas

Meeting Documents

DateSubdivision Authority MinutesSubdivision Authority AgendasWebcast
Oct 13, 2020 - Agenda Package Subdivision AuthorityWebcast
Aug 25, 2020 - Agenda Package Subdivision AuthorityWebcast
Jul 02, 2019 - Agenda Package Subdivision AuthorityWebcast
Apr 02, 2019Minutes Approved SAAgenda Package Subdivision AuthorityWebcast
Website Security Test