Town of Canmore

Bylaws Pending Approval

Bylaw 2018-22 Land Use Bylaw Update and Bylaw 2018-27 Municipal Development Plan (MDP) Amendment Steep Creek Hazard

Summary of proposed changes

The last comprehensive update to the LUB was in 2010. In that time, there has been guidance from the new MDP and Council direction, as well as community feedback that requires another comprehensive update. The changes are significant enough to warrant a complete rewrite of the LUB - rather than a large-scale amendment. The proposed Land Use Bylaw 2018-22, if adopted, will repeal and replace the current Land Use Bylaw 22-2010. The proposed bylaw uses the framework of the existing LUB but improves wording, updates regulations, modifies dated sections, and introduces new regulations. An overview of the proposed changes, background information, and next steps can be found at Land Use Bylaw Updates.

This is the most recent version of the proposed Land Use Bylaw:

The bylaw has received two readings and been the subject of two public hearings.

  • First reading: November 20, 2018
  • Statutory Public Hearing: February 5, 2019
  • Second Reading: October 1, 2019
  • Non-Statutory Public Hearing: November 12, 2019
  • Third reading scheduled: December 10, 2019 at 5 p.m

To reflect consistency with the regulations in the proposed Land Use Bylaw, an amendment to the Municipal Development Plan is required to update regulations for Steep Creek Hazards. 

Giving feedback

Comments can be submitted directly to mayor and council at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Amendment 2019-28 Organics Diversion Program Proposed Borrowing Bylaw

Summary of proposed changes  

To authorize the Town of Canmore to borrow an additional $450,000 over a term of not more than 15 years.  A borrowing bylaw in the amount $1,385,000 for the Organics Diversion Program was approved on March 5, 2019.  A budget amendment was requested for an additional $450,000 to fulfill a building code requirement for the Waste Management Centre expansion.  Total project cost is $3,365,000.

Giving feedback

You may submit comments to 902 7th Avenue, Canmore, Alberta, T1W 3K1, or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. The deadline for comments is 4:30 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 2, 2019. 

If you wish to oblige Council to either defeat this bylaw or hold a public plebiscite, you must submit a formal petition. The petition must comply with the provisions of the Municipal Government Act of Alberta and be submitted to the Chief Administrative Officer at the Town of Canmore no later than 4:30 p.m. on Monday, Dec. 2, 2019.

The borrowing bylaw received first reading on Nov. 5, 2019.  Second and third readings of the bylaw are scheduled to take place at the regular council meeting on Dec. 10, 2019 at 5 p.m. at the Civic Centre, 902 7th Avenue.

Bylaw 2019-25 Canmore-Bighorn Intermunicipal Development Plan

Summary of proposed bylaw

New legislation in the Municipal Government Act requires municipalities with common borders to adopt intermunicipal development plans. The Town has prepared a plan with our bordering municipality, the M.D. of Bighorn. The plan addresses land use planning on lands bordering both municipalities including things like future land use, utility services, environmental matters, and transportation corridors.  

Giving feedback

A public hearing is scheduled for Tuesday, December 3, 2019 at 9 a.m.  Email written submissions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. before noon on December 3. Anyone may make a verbal submission at the hearing. Reservations are not required. 

Learn more about the Public Hearing Process

To find out how to make a submission and learn about what happens at a public hearing visit our Public Hearings page.



Website Security Test