Town of Canmore

Election Workers

We are no longer looking for election workers.  Thank you to everyone who applied!

Election day is October 18, 2021 and workers will be required for a maximum 12-hour shift, 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.  There are also shifts available for 5 advance elections on October 7, 8, 9, 12 and 13. Pay is $20 per hour.

Deputy Returning Officers
The deputy returning officers are mainly responsible for registering electors. This includes verifying voter identification, explaining and administering the elector register, explaining how to complete a ballot, and issuing ballots. One or two deputies are also required to assist elector deposit their voted ballots into the vote tabulator. Deputies at the vote tabulator are required to stand for most of their shift.

Greeters direct voters to the registration tables and then on to the voting booth.  They also may be required to assist voters with mobility or vision challenges. Greeters are required to stand for most of their shift.


  • At least 18 years of age,
  • not related to any candidate,
  • patient and friendly,
  • basic arithmetic skills, and
  • available to work on Monday, October 18 from 9 a .m. to 9 p.m.

To apply, please download and complete the pdf election worker application (286 KB) or drop by the Civic Centre to pick up a paper copy. Applications are due by 4:30 on Monday, August 30, 2021:

Please direct any questions to the returning officer, Cheryl Hyde, at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Election Office
Canmore Civic Centre, 902 7 Avenue
Returning Officer: Cheryl Hyde
Phone: 403-678-1550, email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 


The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test