Town of Canmore

Council Clips – January 5, 2021

Council voted on the following bylaws:

Tourist Home Density in Sub-District C: Council approved an amendment to the Land Use Bylaw to allow for no more than 50% of residential units within a building to be used as tourist homes in this Teepee Town sub-district with the exception of one block of properties that can have 100% of residential units as tourist homes.

Land Use Omnibus Amendments: Council approved a number of clarifications, corrections of clerical errors, and removal of redundant and irrelevant sections of the Land Use Bylaw.

Offsite Levy Bylaw: Council approved a new an updated offsite levy bylaw, which provides a legislated method of repayment by the development community of costs incurred by the Town to provide supporting infrastructure for future development.

All bylaws will be available at Bylaws

Council also approved:

·         Several 2021 capital projects, including a solar project for the roof of the Canmore Recreation Centre (instead of on the Senior Centre, artsPlace, and Roundhouse at this time), Stoneworks Creek flood mitigation, and network and utility upgrades.

·         Funding for the 2020 capital project for the CPR Crossing Replacement at Spring Creek Gate.

·         An increase to a budget for the digitization of planning records.

·         Amendments to Assessment Appeal fees.

Finally, Council was presented with the 2020 Report to the Community, which is a progress report on the planned work that was accomplished last year as well as on the Town of Canmore’s response to COVID-19. It can be found here:

To read any of the reports in the council agenda package or watch a video of the meeting visit Council Agendas, Minutes, and Videos


The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test