Town of Canmore

Council Clips – February 23, 2021

2021 Operating and Capital Budgets Approved

Council approved a $57.3M operating and $13.8M capital budget for 2021, with a focus on prioritizing the safety of the community during the COVID-19 pandemic by increasing maintenance and accessibility of outdoor amenity space, and reducing our community impact on climate change. Other priorities include proceeding with a near carbon neutral construction plan for a new fire hall, managing traffic and parking congestion, and leading a community conversation on a sustainable vision for tourism in Canmore.

The result is a 4.5% municipal property tax increase for 2021. To put the budget in context, for every $100,000 of assessed value of a residential unit, the resulting municipal property tax would increase by ~$10/year (for a residential property assessed at $700,000 there would be an increase of ~$69/year). Note that until the mill rate is set in May, the exact impact to individual properties isn’t confirmed. The increase was reduced from an initial 8.4% increase by using the tax stabilization reserve to offset $1M in lost recreation revenue and funding the COVID-19 Contingency, and by reducing contributions to reserves. To learn more about the budget and business plan visit Budget & Financial Information

Reserves Policy Amendments Approved

Council amended the Reserves Policy to include two new reserves: the Sustainability Reserve and the Paid Parking Reserve. The policy was also updated to reflect terminology changes and Canmore Community Housing, renaming Perpetually Affordable Housing to “Vital Homes.” The updated policy will be available on the website by the end of the week, and in the meantime you can review all Town of Canmore policies at Policies.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test