Town of Canmore

Council Clips – March 30, 2021

Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework with Kananaskis Approved by Council

Provincial legislation requires municipalities with common borders to prepare and adopt Intermunicipal Collaboration Frameworks (ICFs). These frameworks address matters related to joint planning, delivery and funding of intermunicipal services. Today Council approved an ICF with the Kananaskis Improvement District to join the one already in place with the M.D. of Bighorn. To learn more about the Kananaskis ICF, read Item H-1 in the March 30 agenda package.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test