Town of Canmore

Council Clips – April 27, 2021

Bylaw 2021-06 Smith Creek Area Structure Plan

Council defeated the Smith Creek Area Structure Plan bylaw at second reading.

Bylaw 2021-05 Three Sisters Village Area Structure Plan

Council proposed numerous amendments to this ASP to address some concerns heard during the public hearing. Citing the benefits of the innovation district, commercial development, opportunities for mortgage-helping rental suites in semi-detached and townhouse developments, increased affordable housing, and being an improvement to the existing 2004 ASP on this land, Council approved second reading of the Three Sisters Village Area Structure Plan (ASP) with amendments including:

  • Involving Stoney Nakoda Nation in the approval of all Conceptual Schemes of the ASP
  • Doubling the minimum requirement from 10% to 20% of all residential units to be provided as affordable housing (defined Town of Canmore guidelines)  
  • Constructing the wildlife fencing before any development occurs and changing the phasing of the development to delaying building near the wildlife corridor
  • Replacing Tourist Homes with dedicated visitor accommodation
  • Creating a provision so all semi-detached dwelling and townhouse development require accessory dwelling units (suites)

Third reading of the Three Sisters Village Area Structure Plan is required before the bylaw is passed and is scheduled for Tuesday, May 11. For more information and details on the amendments visit Three Sisters Mountain Village Area Structure Plan Applications.

MOU with Stoney Nakoda Nation

Council also directed administration to investigate and report back on the scope, process, and resources needed to establish a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Stoney Nakoda Nation.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test