Town of Canmore

Council Clips – May 11, 2021

Council voted to postpone 3rd Reading of Bylaw 2021-05 to Tuesday, May 25, and directed Administration to meet with TSMVPL in order to review and evaluate their identified concerns and how best to achieve the stated objectives of Council as approved through amendments to the ASP at 2nd Reading. Administration will report back to Council on that discussion prior to 3rd Reading of the ASP.

The stated objectives of Council are:

  • To achieve phasing that has all commercial development complete prior to the majority of the residential development.
  • To ensure that the Village ASP meets the MDP requirement of being a primary commercial development with a significant commercial tax base.
  • To reduce the Three Sisters Village residential unit and density projections by approximately 1/3 to achieve the primary commercial development concept of the Village.
  • To achieve a minimum of 20% of all residential units being provided as affordable housing units.

A copy of the letter from TSMV can be found on page 151 of the agenda package


The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test