Town of Canmore

Council Clips – May 25, 2021

Council Defeats TSMV Application at 3rd Reading

Acknowledging the work that went into the process of bringing this application forward, Council felt the current application did not go far enough. Council heard the concerns of the public as they spoke overwhelmingly in opposition to this proposed development. While the amendments brought the application in closer alignment to Council’s objectives, there were still issues that remain unaddressed. Although this application was not approved, the existing area structure plan approved in 2004 remains in effect on this privately-owned land. Details can be found at Three Sisters Mountain Village Area Structure Plan Applications

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test