Town of Canmore

Council Clips – February 21, 2023

Tourism-Based Communities Economic Impact and Fiscal Capacity Reports

Council heard details of two reports which identify the costs of hosting visitors in tourism-based communities in Alberta. While it has long been understood that tourism-based communities face added costs as a result of serving the fluctuating visitor population, Banff, Jasper, and Canmore have the highest per capita expenditures of the comparator communities and spend approximately 43, 32, and 26 per cent of their budgets supporting visitor populations respectively (based on 2021 budget information). All three of these municipalities face significant demands to support visitor populations and have limited fiscal capacity to generate additional revenues. The report concludes additional fiscal capacity is needed to support these communities, which contribute $112 million in provincial taxes annually, and $2.2 billion in provincial GDP.

Canmore Local Transit Bus Purchase

To take advantage of current pricing and procurements and to utilize a significant grant funding source, Council approved the purchase of an electric bus to add to Canmore’s fleet which will improve operations and maintenance of the fleet.  To provide capacity for future route expansion of transit service in Canmore supports of our livability, affordability, and mode-shift goals.

Bow Valley Waste Management Commission

Council also heard a presentation from the Bow Valley Waste Management Commission (BVWMC) which services the Town of Banff, Canmore, and the M.D of Bighorn. The presentation highlighted the purpose, operations, responsibilities, and governance structure of the commission.

To read details about any of the above initiatives, download today’s agenda packages here: Town of Canmore - Agendas, Minutes & Videos

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test