Town of Canmore

Council Clips – January 22, 2019

Committee of the Whole Meeting
Three Sisters Development Update

Three Sisters Mountain Village is currently working on two area structure plans (ASPs) to guide future development in Three Sisters Village and Smith Creek. Today they presented Council with the results of their latest public engagement initiative. Themes included affordability, wildlife, mobility, and commercial development. Three Sisters will continue providing opportunities for the public to provide input, and intend to present to the Committee of the Whole again in March to focus on the complexity and interrelated nature of the component within the two ASPs. For more information about the project visit

Mountain Creek Hazard Mitigation

After the 2013 floods, the Town created a Mountain Creek Hazard Mitigation Program to assess and mitigate the risk associated with Canmore's creeks.  Since the initial priority of implementing short-term mitigation in time for the 2014 run-off, the focus has been on long-term mitigation.  Several construction projects have been carried out on various creeks, and today Council heard an update on the progress that’s been made. They also heard a presentation from the consultant who recently completed the hazard and risk assessment for X, Y, and Z Creeks and Echo Creek.  To learn more about the Mountain Creek Hazard Mitigation program visit Mountain Creek Hazard Mitigation

Calgary-Bow Valley Mass Transit Feasibility Study

Five municipalities, the Town of Canmore, the Town of Banff, the Town of Cochrane, the City of Calgary, and Improvement District 9, have partnered to commission a study into the feasibility of mass transit services between Calgary and the Bow Valley. The study was presented to Council in an in camera session and is considered confidential until the municipalities jointly release the document in February 2019.

Committee of the Whole Regular Features

Check out the meeting agenda package at to read:

  • Councillor Updates – a monthly report on the activities of individual councillors
  • Service Area Reports – each department provides a summary of operational activities
  • Council Resolution Action List – direction given by Council to administration
  • You can also see a video of the presentations at Council Agendas, Minutes, and Videos



The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test