Town of Canmore

Council Clips – March 5, 2019

Borrowing Approved for Five Capital Projects

Council approved five bylaws authorizing debenture funding for 15-year terms for the following capital projects:

  • Organics Diversion Program
  • Lift Station 6 Lifecycle Replacement Construction
  • South Bow River Loop Water Main Construction
  • Bow Valley Trail Wastewater Upgrade Construction
  • Bow Valley Trail Fire Flow Improvement Construction

 For more information about the Town’s capital projects visit

New Score Clocks for the Recreation Centre

Local business Crossway Community Thrift has offered to pay the costs of replacing the aging score clock in the Alex Kaleta arena in return for the display of their organization’s logo on the score clocks in both the Alex Kaleta and the Thelma Crowe arenas. Council agreed to go ahead with the project, with the understanding that the “Sponsored by Can Bow Motors” sign will remain posted in the Thelma Crowe arena until the score clock there reaches the end of its life in 2026.

Council Appointments

·       Public members Tory Kendal, Joanne March, Christine de Soto, James Kendal, Richard Greaves, Reid Costley, Jeremy Elbourne, and Bryon Parlo were appointed to the Downtown Business Improvement Area (previously known as the Downtown Business Revitalization Zone) board of directors.

·       Michelle Vincent was appointed to the Community Grant Selection Committee.

·       Town administration members Jolene Noel and Sara Jones were appointed as Clerks to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board.

The Town of Canmore is located within Treaty 7 region of Southern Alberta. In the spirit of respect, reciprocity and truth, we honour and acknowledge the Canmore area, known as “Chuwapchipchiyan Kudi Bi” (translated in Stoney Nakoda as “shooting at the willows”) and the traditional Treaty 7 territory and oral practices of the Îyârhe Nakoda (Stoney Nakoda) – comprised of the Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Goodstoney First Nation – as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation and the Blackfoot Confederacy comprised of the Siksika, Piikani, Kainai. We acknowledge that this territory is home to the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3, within the historical Northwest Métis homeland. We acknowledge all Nations who live, work, and play and help us steward this land and honour and celebrate this territory. We commit to working to live in right relations and to advance Truth and Reconciliation.

Website Security Test